My Fav. Example of Irony!

My favorite example of Irony from the story was when the Grandmother said “I wouldn’t take my children in any directions with a criminal like that aloose in it. I couldn’t answer to my conscience if I did (O’Connor)”. The expectation was that she would not take Bailey, along with family to any where dangerous area where a Murderer would be. And in the story that’s exactly what happened, but even though she led them, she DID NOT answer to her conscious and admit her family that the actual house was in Tennessee not Georgia.  This type of Irony is considered “Situational Irony” because  what is expected to happen and what actually happened, is the exact opposite of what is meant to happen (TypesOfIrony.com). I recognized ironic moments like the movie “Get Out”, where is was expected to be a normal trip and caring girlfriend that turn out to be ironic how she acted in the beginning and how the trip unfolded to have killed for his brain and eyes.

Leave a comment